Appendix III

Standard Version 4.11

Prohibited Agrochemicals

Methodology

The list of Prohibited Agrochemicals is based on the following conventions, international lists or rules enacted by government entities (in alphabetical order):

- Environmental Protection Agency (USA)
- European Commission and European Safety Authority
- PAN List of Highly Hazardous Pesticides
- Rotterdam Convention
- Stockholm Convention
- Montreal Protocol
- World Health Organization 1a and 1b list

We have selected from those lists the most dangerous agrochemicals as supported by scientific evidence. Since research regarding the impact of agrochemicals on humans, wildlife and ecosystems yields new results and new threats consistently, we have chosen to update this list frequently, at least once per year as new scientific facts become available and published.

Generally, the substances listed must not be used in agricultural production, processing, or any other handling of FairTSA certified products. In extremely specific cases, operations may request temporary exemptions. An exemption may be granted by the Cooperating Certification Agency if all of the following apply:

- 1. The exemption is granted for 90 days or shorter.
- 2. The exemption does not violate any laws or Maximum Residue Levels rules either in the country of production or the country of export.
- 3. The exemption is based on properly documented unusual occurrences that could result in total or major loss of the harvest (for example, locust plagues).
- 4. The Cooperating Certification Agency must document the decision weighing the severity of the unusual occurrence versus possible hazards for humans, animals, and the environment.

Table 1: List of Prohibited Agrochemicals

Substance		
1,2 dibromethane	dieldrin	mirex
1,2 dicholorethane	difenacoum	monocrotophos
2,4,5-T (2,4,5- trichlorophenoxyacetic acid) and its salts and esters (1)	difethialone	Neonicotoids: (acetamiprid, clothianidin, imidaclopr id, nitenpyram, nithiazine, thiacloprid , thiamethoxam)
3-chloro-1,2-propanediol	dinoseb, its acetate and dinoseb salts	nicotine
acrolein	dinoterb	omethoate
aldicarb	diphacinone	oxamyl
aldrin	disulfoton	oxydemeton-methyl
amoxicillin	DNOC (dinitro-ortho-cresol) and its salts (ammonium, potassium, sodium)	paraquat (all forms)
alpha HCH	edifenphos (EDDP)	parathion
asbestos	endosulfan	pentachlorobenzene
azynphos ethyl	endrin	pentachlorophenol (PCP), its salts and esters
azynphos methyl	EPN	phenylmercury acetate (PMA)
beta-cyfluthrin	ethiofencarb	phorate
binapacryl	ethoprophos (ethoprop)	phosphamidon (fosfamidon)
beta HCH	ethylene oxide (oxirane)	phostebupirim (tebupirimfos)
binapacryl	famphur	polybrominated biphenyl mixture (PBB)
blasticidin	fenamiphos	polychlorinated biphenyls PCB (except mono-and dichlorinated) (Aroclor)
brodifacoum	flocoumafen	polychlorinated terphenyls (PCT)
bromadiolone	flocoumafen	propetamphos
bromethalin	fluoroacetamide	sodium arsenite
butocarboxim	formaldehyde	sodium cyanide
butoxycarboxim	formetanate	sodium fluoroacetate
captafol	furathiocarb	strychnine
carbofuran	HCH mixed isomers (containing less than 99.0% of the gamma isomer)	sulfotep
Chlordane	heptachlor	tebupirimifos (phostebupirim)

Fair Trade Sustainability Alliance

S-en-FairTSA Standard-Appendix III- Prohibited Agrochemicals - Version 4.11 – effective date January 1, 2022

Chlordecone	heptenophos	tefluthrin
chlordimeform	hexachlorobenzene (HCB) (benzene hexachloride)	terbufos
chlorethoxyfos	hexachlorocyclohexane HCH/BCH - (mixed isomers)	tetraethyl lead
chlorfenvinphos	isoxathion	tetramethyl lead
chlormephos	lead arsenate	thallium sulphate
chlorobenzilate	lindane (gamma-HCH)	thiofanox
chlorophacinone	mecarbam	thiometon
copper acetoarsenite (Paris Green)	mercury chloride	toxaphene (camphechlor)
coumaphos	Mercury compounds (including mercuric oxide, mercurous chloride (calomel), phenylmercury acetate (PMA), phenylmercuric oleate (PMO) other inorganic mercury compounds: alkyl mercury, alkyloxyalkyl and aryl mercury compounds)	triazophos
coumatetralyl	mercury oxide	tris (2,3-dibromopropyl) phosphate
cyfluthrin	methamidophos	vamidothion
DBCP (dibromocloropropane)	methidathion	warfarin
DDE (Dichlorodiphenyldichloroethy lene)	methiocarb (mercaptodimethur)	zeta-cypermethrin
DDT (Dichlorodiphenyltrichloroeth ylene)	methomyl	zinc phosphide
demeton-S-methyl	methyl parathion (parathion methyl)	
dicrotophos	mevinphos	